Mission Statement

The Purpose of the District Stewardship Committee is to serve the Church by promoting Stewardship resources. It will articulate Biblical Stewardship Principals and review and recommend resources to the congregation for their Stewardship programming.


John E. Herrmann Award

The John E. Herrmann Award was established to recognize faithful stewards in the Michigan District, and to encourage others to greater stewardship within their home churches. It is named after one of our Synod’s most influential men in the area of steward education.

The John E. Herrmann Award will be presented in the fall of 2022 to one of our Lutheran Day Schools that has utilized the following steward education activities as developed by the Michigan District Stewardship Committee. The award consists of a plaque for the school, recognition on the John E. Herrmann Award plaque in the Michigan District office, and a ministry grant of $2,000.

Deadline to submit your school is June 15, 2022.

For more information and eligibility requirements and to submit your school:

Informational Brochure

Previous Award Recipients

2021 – Our Shepherd, Birmingham

2019 – Bethlehem, Lewiston

2018 – St. Lorenz Lutheran Church, Frankenmuth

2018 – Rev. Dr. Richard J. Wolfram (Special Honoree)

2018 – Fred Becker – Atonement, Dearborn

2017 – Gordon Mueller – Faith, Bay City

2016 – Judith Ann Root – Immanuel, Wheeler

2015 – Bill Boice – St. Matthew, Spring Lake

2014 – James and Carlyn Roth – East Bethlehem, Detroit

2013 – Dorothy Schultz – Trinity, Jackson

2012 – Kenneth and Lynn Pollack – Lutheran Church of the Lakes, Addison

2011 – Randy Fairbanks – St. Paul, Hubbard Lake

2010 – Viola and Clarence Schneider – St. Thomas, Ann Arbor

2009 – Richard A. Greiner – St. Matthew, Holt

2008 – William Neddermeyer – St. Paul, Herron

2007 – Joan Walz – Immanuel, Sebewaing

2006 – Ron Chewning – Our Shepherd, Birmingham

2005 – Mary Smith – Peace, Detroit

2004 – Walter Baggleman – Our Savior, Marlette

2003 – Alicia Winget – Grace, Romeo

2002 – David & Cheryl Hughes – Our Savior, Lansing

2001 – William Woodhull Family – St. John, Rochester


Additional Resources

LCMS Stewardship Ministry Website

Center for Stewardship – A resource ministry of Concordia Seminary, St. Louis


Rev. Dr. Richard J. Wolfram is the Executive Staff Member who oversees the area of Stewardship in the Michigan District. If you have any questions please feel free to contact him directly.

Committee Members:

Rev. Dr. Richard J. Wolfram
Rev. Douglas M. Adams
Rev. Eric Black
Mr. Ron Chewning
Rev. John M. Duerr
Rev. Daniel C. Meckes
Rev. Stephen E. Schilke
Mrs. Laura Thomas