The 2017 John E. Herrmann Stewardship Award Winner2 min read

The Michigan District Stewardship Committee is proud to announce the selection of Gordon Mueller of Faith, Bay City as the 2017 John E. Herrmann Memorial Stewardship Award winner. Mueller has been a tireless worker in the Kingdom of God. His list of stewardship work inside and outside the Church fills most of a page, and is an inspiration to all of us in the Michigan District.

In recognition of Mueller’s outstanding stewardship work, he was presented an award plaque by Rev.­ Stephen Schilke, a member of the Michigan District Stewardship Committee. A $1,000 gift was also presented for ministry use at Faith in his honor. Mueller’s name will appear on the award plaque that hangs in the Michigan District office.

As a District, it is our desire to honor and recognize those who have heeded the call to do “the heroic, the unusual” in their stewardship lives. This year we recognize, thank, and honor Gordon Mueller. Well done, good and faithful servant!

If you know of someone within your congregation that you believe deserves consideration for the 2018 John E. Herrmann Award, nomination forms and entry requirements for the award will be sent to all the congregations within the Michigan District by September 1, 2017. Each church is encouraged to submit an entry to the Stewardship Committee by the October 15 deadline. The Committee will choose an award winner by November. Notification of the award winner will take place in early 2018, and next year’s award presentation will take place in the home congregation of the winner. All award winners, like Gordon Mueller, receive a plaque commemorating the award, and have his/her/their name(s) placed on the John E. Herrmann Award plaque in the Michigan District Office. Additionally, a donation is made to their home church in their honor.

The John E. Herrmann award is funded partially through the Michigan District and partially through private donors. For further information, or if you are interested in perpetuating this award through a contribution, send donations to:

The John E. Herrmann award

Michigan District Stewardship Committee

3773 Geddes Road

Ann Arbor, MI  48105-3098

(888) 225-2111
“The time has come to go beyond the conventional and to do the heroic, the unusual, the thing we know  we should have done long before the terrific storms of the present disturbed our feathered security. If God ever has pushed His people for action the time is now.”

–John E. Herrmann

Pictured from L-R are Rev. Daniel Meckes, Anita and Gordon Mueller, Rev. Stephen Schilke, and Rev. Matthew Hall.

Subscribe to Blog Button

About the Author

This blog was published by the Communications Department of the Michigan District, LCMS.

More by This Author